Current Clergy

Parish Priest is Father Behruz Rafat

Father Behruz Rafat, known as Father Behr, was ordained a Catholic priest 14 years ago on the feast of Our Lady of the Rosary.

Father Behr was born in Tehran, Iran, and grew up in South London. He trained for the Archdiocese of Southwark at Saint John’s Seminary, Wonersh.

He has served in parishes in South London and Kent. For 7 years he was the parish priest of Paddock Wood. Before that, he worked as chaplain in a hospital and in a school. Most recently he was a resident priest in Corpus Christi parish in Tonbridge before being appointed as parish priest of Tenterden.

Father Behr has been and currently is involved in encouraging people to form prayer groups and spiritual support groups via online platforms such as Zoom and WhatsApp.

He has a wide range of interests including film, music and literature and enjoys meeting people from all walks of life and all faith backgrounds.

Fr Behr says: ‘I am delighted to be living and working in this beautiful market town and look forward to getting to know the people of Tenterden.’

Parish Deacon is the Reverend Jolyon Vickers

After a short flurry with hotel management, Jolyon worked in the National Health Service in a number of roles for 40 years.

He has particular responsibility for the housebound and residential nursing homes. He also is experienced at planning funeral rites and happy to help people in any pre-need situations.

He also has a role as the RC Ecumenical Officer for Kent and is an active member of the Archdiocese of Southwark’s Unity Commission.

He has been married to Suzanne for nearly 40 years.